I’m all out of clever titles at the moment.

But while I find it difficult to think of a witty name for this post, I still have enough wits about me to thank the lovely Dorian from Tales of the Easily Distracted for tipping a nod in our direction for the “7×7” meme floating around the blogosphere as of late. Thanks for thinking of us, Dorian!

Now, as Genie would say, when it comes to accepting this award, “There are a few, uh, provisos. Ah, a couple of quid pro quo.” I must:

  • Tell everyone something that no one else knows about.
  • Link to one of my posts that I personally think best fits the following categories: Most Beautiful Piece, Most Helpful Piece, Most Popular Piece, Most Controversial Piece, Most Surprisingly Successful Piece, Most Underrated Piece, and Most Pride-worthy Piece.
  • Pass this award on to seven other bloggers.

Seems simple enough. I think even my currently overtaxed brain can handle this.

SOMETHING NO ONE ELSE KNOWS ABOUT: Well, folks who know me “for reals” know this, and it has absolutely nothing to do with this blog or film, but … I used to have a nose ring! I got it on a whim one afternoon when I lived in Iowa and wore it for a year before I got tired of it and pulled it out.

MOST BEAUTIFUL PIECE: Well, I consider my screwball pictorial of Cary Grant to be the most appropriate choice for this category, seeing as how it features several beautiful (albeit goofy) photos of a seriously beautiful man. Oh, look. Here’s another one.

This, incidentally, is the wallpaper for my laptop, so every morning starts with an inner "squee!" and a sigh of pure feminine satisfaction.

MOST HELPFUL PIECE: This is kind of a cop-out, as I am linking an entire category as opposed to a single post, but I think my entries on women in early Hollywood are helpful in that they help expose film fans to these pioneering (and relatively unknown) figures whose work contributed to the success of the movie industry.

MOST POPULAR PIECE: My post on Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs, which kicked off our year-long salute to the Disney animated canon, continues to draw an average of 700 views per month.

MOST CONTROVERSIAL PIECE: I don’t believe I’ve ever posted anything that I would classify as truly controversial, but my post on the Hays Code stirred up a bit of debate in the comment section.

MOST SURPRISINGLY SUCCESSFUL PIECE: I was very pleased by the reaction to the discussion that Carrie and I posted on Cinderella Jones for the CMBA “Guilty Pleasures” blogathon. Knowing that it wasn’t a very familiar film for many folks, and never having written a collaborative post in that way before, I wasn’t sure that readers would like it, but it remains one of the most commented-upon and popular entries ever posted here!

MOST UNDERRATED PIECE: I think I expected a bit more of a response to my week-long tribute to The Maltese Falcon last year. It’s such an iconic film, and opinions about it are generally pretty divided, so I was surprised to see fewer comments than I anticipated on those posts.

MOST PRIDE-WORTHY PIECE: I really love the two-part post I wrote on A Streetcar Named Desire and censorship last year.

And now to tag seven other deserving bloggers (apologies if some of you have already been tapped for this meme):

Caftan Woman

Grand Old Movies

I Shoot the Pictures

The Hollywood Revue

The Kitty Packard Pictorial

The Movie Projector

Via Margutta 51

Wonderfully talented writers, each and every one!

Thanks again, Dorian! Though it was hard to assign posts to each category, it was nonetheless a fun trip down blogging memory lane!

7 thoughts on “I’m all out of clever titles at the moment.

  1. And nothing tops the time you were teaching class and slapped yourself right in the nose because you thought a bug had landed there.

    You make my day with special memories. XD

Leave a comment